The Cuckoo's Nest

The Cuckoo's Nest is a suite of seven movements based on English country dance and Morris dance tunes. It takes its name from the three related tunes used, together with a little help from Beethoven, in the third movement. The opening passage of this movement, in which the hornist is asked to play a tambour in duet with the flautist, represents the sound of the Morris dancers' pipe and tabor. The long notes at rehearsal letter Y represent capers, leaps by the dancers which require such accompaniment.

Click on "Score" or the various part abbreviations to bring up in new frames printable and downloadable sheet music.

Fl Ob Cl/B Hn Bn